Wednesday, December 18, 2013

Jawapan Dari Semua Sushi Outlet berkenaan Status Halal

Kredit Dari


Agehan Japanese Restaurant

Halal-certified sushi restaurant:

Agehan Japanese Restaurant, Grand BlueWave Hotel, Shah Alam

Note: I am not affiliated with the restaurant in any way

Iketeru, Hilton Kuala Lumpur

Dear (name)

Regarding the enquiry below;-

Hi, I'd like to enquire about the food served at Iketeru Japanese Restaurant, Hilton Kuala Lumpur. Is alcohol used in the rice or any other dishes?Thank you..

The chef responded that they are sake and mirin for cooking, especially the rice.

Thank you

Best regards,

JESSIE LEE  I  Customer Service Agent

t: +60 3 2264 2592  I  f: +60 3 2264 2593
3 JalanStesenSentral  I  50470 Kuala Lumpur  I  Malaysia  I I

Source: Reply via email on 4 August 2012

This email on top of the reply sent previously.

Thursday, 9 August 2012

Ichiban Boshi

Based on telephone conversation with their representative:

  1. Meat is supplied by Sri Segar, a halal-certified meat supplier.
  2. No alcohol/mirin/sake is used in the rice or any other dishes. However, they do use fermented products (such as soysauce and tempeh) and were unsure of the alcohol content. Ichiban Boshi contacted the supplier in Japan but the supplier did not understand the concept of halal, hence, were unable to give a satisfactory reply.
  3. They do not use fermented products in their sushi.

Source: Telephone conversation on 9 August 2012

Saturday, 4 August 2012

Isetan KLCC

Dear (name),

Thank You for your mail.

Well, written below are the information regarding your inquiry on the Halal Certification for the meat and Alcohol usage for the Delica Food preparation.

1) All the Sushi preparation at the Fish Sushi Counter are without  alcohol except for the ( Ikura Shoyu Zuke/ Salmon Roe ).

2) All the Chicken Meat cooked at the Pork Free Delica Counters are certified Halal as they are supplied by certified company.

3) Cooking Wine ( Alcohol ) such as Mirin and Sake are used in the food preparation at the Delica Counters like Senya and Tamaruya.

Basically these counters does not have a Halal Certification from JAKIM, therefore they are only able to have the Pork Free Sign instead.

Hope the above information will be helpful for you.

Once again Thank You for writing to us.

Best Regards,

Sales Manager, Foodmarket Div.
Isetan KLCC

Source: Reply via email on 4 August 2012


Dear (name),

Greeting from Kampachi at Pavilion.

Thank you for your enquiry.

1. The beef that we get are from Australia with Halal certification  and chicken we get supply from local Malay supplier.

2. We use vinegar in Sushi rice, but in kitchen side, certain sauce are with alcohol content such as mirin. t is a kind of rice wine similar to sake, but with a lower alcohol.

Should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to call me.

More informations are available on
Please call (03) 2148-9608 for more information and reservations.

Best Regards,
Safura Nazim - Restaurant Manager
Lot K6.09.00, Level 6,Pavilion Kuala Lumpur
168, Jalan Bukit Bintang, 55100 Kuala Lumpur
Tel: +603 2148 9608
Fax: +603 2148 2608

Source: Reply via email on 4 August 2012

Kampachi, Equatorial Bangi-Putrajaya sent a separate reply.

Iketeru, Hilton Kuala Lumpur

Dear (name),

Iketeru restaurant is pork free and some foods / dishes is contained of alcohol ( using sake ).If you are strictly not prefer an alcohol in your food need to let us know in advanced so we can advised  few dishes that is not contain alcohol.

Thank you,
Sandra Aeb
Iketeru Asst.Outlet Manager
t: +60 3 2264 2288 I f: +60 3 2274 9812
3 Jalan Stesen Sentral I 50470 Kuala Lumpur I Malaysia  I I

This transmission is not a digital or electronic signature and cannot be used to form, document, or authenticate a contract. Hilton and its affiliates accept no liability arising in connection with this transmission.Copyright 2012 Hilton Worldwide Proprietary and Confidential

Source: Reply via email on 3 August 2012

Please take note that I only enquired about the usage of alcohol in food.

Zipangu, Shangri-La Kuala Lumpur

Dear (name),

Greetings from Shangri-La Hotel, Kuala Lumpur.

Pursuant to your inquiries, the usage of alcohol (wine vinegar) may be used for cooking in some of our dishes at a very minimal quantity. And this is not include rice.
This is in order to preserve the exclusivity of Japanese cuisine and Zipangu restaurant is pork free.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly via this email, should you require further clarifications information.

With kind regards

Billah Kamal Baharun, Restaurant Marketing Manager
Shangri-La Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
11, Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, 50250 Malaysia
603 20743900  603 20743560

Discover what's in our nature at

Please consider the environment before printing this e-mail.

Source: Reply via email on 3 August 2012

Please take note that I only enquired about the usage of alcohol in food.

Friday, 3 August 2012


Dear (name),
Our restaurant is a pork free restaurant, we do not process any Halal certificate due to more that 80% our product is import from Japan whereby they do not practice Halal. The only halal product is the chicken whereby we take from local supplier. In certain cooking but not all we do mix with sake and mirin whereby is an alcohol. Hope these will help you for your inquiries.


Source: Reply via email on 3 August 2012


Dear valued customer,
We are non-halal restaurant but we are pork free. Our meat suppliers hold halal certificate and some food is with non-halal ingredient.

Umai-Ya management

Source: Reply via email on 3 August 2012


Important Update: Watami is no longer halal.

Dear (name),

Watami Japanese Casual Restaurant Malaysia is a pork free restaurant and all our meat are sourced from halal vendors.
Yes, we use sake in our cooking and do get assistant from our staffs when upon ordering. We also served alcohol in the restaurants, we are not considered  halal.

I hope the above answer your question.

Thank you.


Source: Reply via email on 3 August 2012

Sakae Sushi

Update 27 September 2013: A reader, Shafiqa (thank you), was infomed by Sakae Sushi that its Unagi and Sukiyaki dishes contain mirin.

Dear (name),

Greetings from Sakae Sushi!

With regards to your enquiry, we wish to inform you that Sakae Sushi does not carry a halal certification at the moment. However, we are looking into it and hope to obtain this certification in the near future.

Rest assured, all our dishes are completely pork-free. In addition, all our meat and chicken suppliers are compliant with halal requirements. We also do not add mirin (a type of Japanese alcoholic condiment) into our sushi rice.

Thank you and have a great weekend ahead!

Valerie Tan

Source: Reply via email on 3 August 2012

Note: It is interesting to note that Sakae Holdings (owner of Sakae Sushi and Senjyu) has a halal-certified sushi chain in Singapore - Hei Sushi. Looks like the demand for halal sushi there is way more than here.

Wasabi Bistro, Mandarin Oriental Kuala Lumpur

Dear (name),

Some food in Wasabi Bistro we use Sake (Japanese rice wine/alcohol). However you can let us know in advance not to put sake in your meal.

Our restaurant status is pork free.

Please do not hesitate to call us at +603-2163 0968.

Once again, thank you for your interest shown towards the Wasabi Bistro. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your guests.

Assuring you of our best personal attention at all times.

Thank you.
Best regards,

Kamarudin Ismail @ Din
Wasabi Bistro Manager
Mandarin Oriental Kuala Lumpur
50088 Kuala Lumpur,
Tel: +603 2163 0968

Source: Reply via email on 2 August 2012

Please take note that I only enquired about the usage of alcohol in food.

Thursday, 2 August 2012

Kampachi, Equatorial Bangi-Putrajaya

Dear (name),
Thanks for your enquire.
Let me introduce myself. I am the Chef in charge running the Japanese Restaurant operation.
Firstly I have to let you know that our restaurant is not halal certifed.
On your enquire , our rice is cooked in it natural way and for sushi, vinegar is added to perserve and maintain the seafood freshest.
A certain amount of mirin which contain alcohol is always burn off before cooking. Cretain dishese and sauce can be request without mirin too.
Our Teppanyaki cooking can be request no alcohol at all.
Hope the above info will clear your enquires.

Yours Culinary Regards,
Chef Cheah

Source: Reply via email on 2 August 2012

Please take note that I only enquired about the usage of alcohol in food.

Kampachi restaurant sent a separate reply.

SuperSushi (Sushi Zanmai, Hokkaido Sushi, Sushi-Zen; Sister to SuperDining Group (Rakuzen, Kura, Hokkaido Ichiba, Zen) and SuperPasta (Pasta Zanmai))

Dear (name),

Thank you very much for your enquiry about halal status of our restaurant.

Please be informed that our restaurant is not halal due to beer serving. Other than that, all of our meat based products are from halal certified supplier and we are pork free.

However, some of our cook dishes did contain mirin for taste purpose. Generally, during the cooking process, the mirin will evaporate.

Hope the above helps.

Thank you very much!

Best Regards,
Management of Super Sushi

Source: Reply via email on 2 August 2012

Please take note that emails were also sent to Super Dining and SuperPasta. I am still waiting for their replies.

Saisaki and Shogun

Good day,

We are a PORK FREE Restaurant. All our ingredients from meat to chicken are from halal suppliers.
We do not hold a JAKIM halal certificate Because we do sell alcohol(Sake) and Beer in the premises.
Lastly, all of our outlet are run by Muslim Head chefs. with their assurance we have open our doors to all races.
If you wish further verification via call i can ask our chefs to call you. Please send me your phone number.

For Reservation please go to Online Reservation at

Have a good day, and hope to see you soon.



CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE This message (including any attachments) contains information that may be confidential. Unless you are the intended recipient (or authorized to receive for the intended recipient), you may not read, print, retain, use, copy, distribute or disclose to anyone the message or any information contained in the message. If you have received the message in error, please advise the sender by reply email, and destroy all copies of the original message (including any attachments).

Source: Reply via email on 2 August 2012

Jogoya, Starhill

Dear valued customer,

Warmest Greeting from Jogoya Restaurant Kuala Lumpur !

Thanks for choosing Jogoya as your preferred dining venue.
For your information, we don't have Halal certificate because free flow red and white wine during dinner. We also will stated on the food tag if the food is contain alcohol. The meat is from Halal supplier.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at 03-2142 1268 for further inquiry and reservations.

Thank you,
Jogoya Restaurant

Source: Reply via email on 2 August 2012

Sushi King

Halal Issue

a) Are Sushi King Restaurants Halal certified by JAKIM?
Sushi King is not certified 'Halal' from Jakim. Our meat materials such as chicken, beef and seafood are from Halal-certified source. All food served at Sushi King restaurants is pork-free. Rest assures, no mirin (Japanese cooking wine) and no alcohol added in all our products, sushi or sashimi.

b) Are the food products served suitable for Muslim’s consumption?
We are serving products which are pork free and without additional alcohol ingredient content. Our drinks are all also non-alcoholic.

c) Why is Sushi King still not getting Halal Certificate from JAKIM?
Management of Sushi Kin Sdn. Bhd. is still in the research progress towards getting Halal Certification from

Source: as at 2 August 2012

No comments:

Post a Comment

Any Question ?

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...